Not Really a Post.

My camera is dead and I don’t have a charger. Sad faces. So, until I get said charger (it’s supposedly on its way), I probably won’t post much. I do, however, have some pictures from back when I was first experimenting with my camera. I’m a total photography-novice, so I’ve been relying mostly on the automatic settings and retouching to make things work. These pictures are grainy and off-color, but they illustrate one of my favorite, and most simple meals. I’ve been eating these sandwiches at least once a week, usually after a morning spent perusing the farmer’s market. Thinly sliced radishes and cucumbers on toast with butter and black pepper. Today I ate it with extra salty French butter and lemon cucumbers from Garden of Eve farm, but any good salted butter and fresh vegetables will work. Sometimes I add a sprinkle of chopped parsley or mint. A few capers don’t hurt either. However you eat it, it will be refreshing and delicious. Perfect for humid summer mornings when it’s too hot to stand over a pan of eggs.

A food blog without pictures isn’t much to write home about, so I’ll be on hiatus until the camera is back up and running. In the meantime, here’s a laundry list of recipes I have in mind:

Charred Tomatillo Salsa

Thai Kohlrabi Slaw

Blueberry-Lavender Jam

and Blueberry-Lavender Ice Cream

and, lastly, something amazing with currants, because I’m going currant picking today! Eee!

