Crab Chips

Utz potato chips are a Baltimore original. Along with Natty Bo, Old Bay, and blue crabs they scream Maryland, especially when covered in crab spices and malt vinegar to create my favorite junk food, Crab Chips. Lots of Utz flavors can be found outside of the Delmarva region, but I’ve never found the illustrious Crab Chip anywhere but home. Last time I visited my family, I stocked up on the addictive snack but the three jumbo-sized bags was just not enough. So, being the industrious little Marylander I am, I set out to make my own version. This recipe should make enough for several people to enjoy, but I’m a fat kid at heart so I kind of ate the whole bowl in one sitting. Whoops!

Homemade Crab Chips

4-5 medium-sized potatoes sliced very thin
4 tbsp canola oil
3 tbsp Old Bay seasoning
1 tsp kosher salt

Preheat oven to 400ยบ. Combine all ingredients in a bowl and toss well. Place in a single layer on a foil-line baking sheet and bake until golden and crispy, approximately 12-15 minutes. Transfer to a rack to cool.

