Parsley Pesto BLT

I’ve been getting pretty pumped about fall weather this week. Seeing apples and squashes turn up at the farmer’s market, drinking hot tea, pulling cardigans and jackets out of storage, I love this season. But I guess I’m jumping the gun a little bit because I’ve still got plenty of heirloom tomatoes on my counter and when I turned up the oven to roast some cauliflower this morning I ended up stripping off my sweater and socks because it was too hot in my apartment. So, in salute to Indian summer, here is a damn tasty sandwich highlighting summer’s bounty. Feel free to swap out parsley for whatever herb you have on hand, I really like the spiciness of parsley combined with the creamy cashews but basil, mint, arugula, or whatever green you feel like would work equally as well. Pesto is a free-for-all sauce in my book. Although pine nuts are traditional, I really like using almonds or cashews in my pestos mostly because I don’t trust the expensive pine nut and the itchy mouthfeel it brings.

Parsley Pesto BLT
makes 1 sandwich, but lots of extra pesto.
 
For Pesto:

Approximately 2 cups parsley, coarsely chopped
2 cloves garlic, smashed
1/4 cup raw cashews, coarsely chopped
1/2 cup grated Parmesan
2/3 cup olive oil
Salt and pepper

Combine parsley, garlic, cashews, and oil in a food processor or blender. Pulse to combine. Stir in cheese. Salt and pepper to taste. Pesto will keep, tightly covered in the fridge for about a week.

For Sandwich:
4 strips thick-cut bacon, cooked to your liking.
4 thick slices heirloom tomato
Handful of baby spinach
1 tbsp mayonnaise
2 slices whole wheat toast

Spread about a tablespoon of the pesto onto one piece of toast and the mayo on the other piece. Stack the bacon, tomatoes, and spinach on the pesto-ed slice and top with the other piece of toast. Slice in half and enjoy!