Couscous and Mango Spring Salad

Ugh, time flies. I shot this recipe close to a month ago. I started writing this post around the same time. I’m not sure what happened between now and then (aside from a pretty epic road trip to Texas and a bajillion breakfast tacos. Oh, and then my sister came to visit and we put on fancy dresses and baked pie) but it’s apparent that I’ve been distracted. So, without further ado, here’s the story and recipe I’ve been wanting to share with you for weeks and weeks on end.

It starts about a month ago when I stopped by the Kitchensurfing test kitchen and whipped up some a light, Spring-y lunch for their staff. Kitchensurfing is a new foodie site where you can hire private chefs from all backgrounds and ability levels as well as find the perfect kitchen space for your next event. I think it’s a great idea and I’m excited to see how the site develops moving forward. You can check out my menu here and then pop on over to my profile to learn more about the site and maybe even hire me to cook for you!

Between spending the morning at the farmer’s market and working in the beautiful and well-equipped test kitchen, it’s needless to say that I had a blast sourcing and preparing my menu. But the real kicker came when the lovely staff at Kitchensurfing offered me a few perfectly ripe and juicy mangoes to take home! I love mango, but I don’t buy the tropical fruit, with its big eco-footprint and standard high price tag, very often. Leaving the kitchen with my newly acquired treats and plenty of leftover produce, my mind was racing with ideas for bold flavored dishes that would highlight the honey-sweet fruits. And, so, this salad was born.

This was pretty much an everything-but-the-kitchen-sink, fridge-cleaning-out experiment that went oh-so-well. Use a little of this, a little of that, and sometimes you’ll end up with something just right. Don’t you love when that happens? Plus, it’s so easy to throw together and is both fillingandhealthy. A pretty good deal, if you ask me.

Mango and Couscous Salad

For Salad:
1 ripe mango, diced
1/2 cup sliced fennel bulb, plus a few fennel fronds
1/2 cup sliced radishes
A generous handful of edible blossoms and pea shoots
1 cup cooked Israeli Couscous
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped

For dressing:
1/4 cup coconut oil
Juice and zest of one lime
Kosher salt and cracked black pepper

Whisk together coconut oil, lime juice and zest, salt, and pepper. Set aside. Combine all ingredients in a bowl and toss well. Pour dressing over salad and toss. Marinate for about 30 minutes before serving.

