Coffee Face Scrub

Ok, so this isn’t technically a recipe, but it is made with kitchen staples, and it is something that I make quite often. I have troublesome skin. It’s very dry and prone to breakouts. To top it off, I have a chronic skin disorder that discolors my skin and makes it even drier and itchier. It’s not a huge deal, but it’s irksome to say the least. Regular lotions and soaps don’t seem to help or heal, so I decided a few years back to stick with products that are as natural as possible. Olive oil soap, coconut oil, and this scrub for exfoliating. It’s easy to whip up, smells awesome, and when you wash your face with it in the morning you get a little burst of caffeine! If you’re opposed to coffee, switch it out for loose-leaf tea and add in some citrus zest. This stuff can get quite messy, so I advise using it in the shower. Also, be sure to use the best-quality ingredients you can find since you’ll be rubbing this directly into your pores.

My cats get jealous when I'm photographing food and not them.

Coffee Face Scrub

Fill your choice of container half-way with finely ground coffee. Add one part raw sugar and one part kosher salt. Mix well. Add one part raw honey and one part coconut oil and mix. Keep stored, covered, in a cool, dark place. Stir well before using.

