Simply Eggs

My standard morning usually goes like this: shove cats out of bed, realize I’ve slept in later than I’d meant to, slam down a cup of coffee and some eggs, and head off to work. I stay up too late and then sleep in too late as well. So, most days, I eat simple, hasty meals like the two ‘recipes’ that follow. I eat one of these dishes almost every morning. Usually, I’m cooking and eating them while doing things like putting on shoes and searching for my keys.

Fried Egg on Jammy Toast
serves 1

1 egg
1 piece of toast
2 tsp salted butter
1 tsp jam
Salt and pepper

Melt one teaspoon of butter over med-low heat in a small skillet. When butter starts to foam, crack egg gently into pan. Cook egg until whites are solid. Meanwhile, spread remaining teaspoon of butter onto toast, followed by jam. When egg is cooked, place on top of toast. Salt and pepper to taste. Eat with your hands, just make sure to wipe the yolk off your chin before you leave the house.

 
 
 

Herbed Eggs with Crème Fraiche
serves 1

2 eggs
1 tbsp crème fraiche
1 tbsp fresh herbs of your choice, chopped (I like parsley, sage, or basil best)
1 tbsp butter
Salt and pepper

In a small bowl whisk eggs, crème fraiche, and seasonings until frothy. Melt the butter over low heat and add the herbs and egg mixture. The hardest part about scrambling eggs correctly is being patient: let your eggs sit for a bit, 15-20 seconds, before you start to stir. Using a flat-ended spoon or spatula, push eggs towards the center of the pan from the edges, pausing a few seconds between every stir. Cook eggs until they are almost done, but still look quite wet, they will continue to cook as you plate them. Salt and pepper to taste and wolf down while still scalding hot.

